Other News Stories »»

News Archives »»

Swimmer of the Year

Double breaststroke world-record-holder Cameron van der Burgh was crowned as Aquatics 'Swimmer of the Year' 2009 at a function held on the eve of the FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup on Thursday.
Van der Burgh, who finished as the No 1 swimmer in the 2008 FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup series, got the selection panel's approval ahead of fellow candidates in Jean Basson (4th in the 400 metres freestyle final at > the 2008 Beijing Olympics), Roland Schoeman (who set a world record in the 50 metres butterfly at the 2008 Telkom Short Course Championships in Germiston, and fellow Olympic team-mates Darian Townsend, Sebastien Rousseau and Kathryn Meaklim.

Townsend had been nominated based on his 6 gold, 5 silver and 2 bronze medals during the 2008 FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup, while Capetonian Rousseau had a busy season in claiming the national 200 metres butterfly record. Meaklim cashed in on the lucrative FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup circuit to end third on the women's points standings.

Van der Burgh and Basson shared the 'Best Performance of the Year' award, while in the Personality of the Year award which was decided by public vote on the national federation's www.swimsa.co.za website, Cameron van der Burgh finished with the most votes.

Read more about other award winners on Swimming South Africa's website

Copyright © Libra Swimming Academy